1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
Welcome to the Preppers Forum, registration is free and only takes a minute and allows you to join in with the discussions.

Please click here to register.

Growing potatoes in tyres.

Discussion in 'Crops' started by lonewolf, Feb 8, 2016.

1. lonewolf

lonewolf Site Manager Staff Member

I don't know if anyone has done this as well, but I have been doing this for over 15 years.
    the tyres not only contain the soil or "growing medium" therefore avoiding the need to "earth up" but the rubber in the tyres traps the warmth of the sun and retains it for a long time.
    first obtain your tyres, obvious isn't it?, you need 3 tyres for each "tower" you are going to build.
    I generally lay down a covering of cardboard on the ground first, this is for weed suppression purposes, of course you could buy some weed control fabric instead but I tend to use what I can obtain.
    you don't really need this for just one tower as you can easily weed around one tower but if more than one tower is required sometimes weeds get in between and this makes weeding easier.
    so lay your cardboard flat on the ground where you are going to grow your spuds, if you can get cardboard sheets-great! but I generally get cardboard boxes and cut them flat.
    put your first tyre on the ground and arrange your ("chitted") spuds with space around them, no more than say 4 spuds will be required, you don't need to buy expensive "seed" potatoes, any potato will do, cover the potato with soil or whatever else you intend to use, I use cheap growbags-slit them open and pour the contents over the spuds, to the level of the top of the first tyre.